Procedure file

10/03/2004

10/03/2004

Basic information		
RSO - Internal organisation decisions	2004/2520(RSO)	Procedure completed
Decision on the number of interparliamentary delegations, delegations to joint parliamentary committees and delegations to parliamentary cooperation committees		
Subject 8.40.01.06 Committees, interparliamentary deleg	ations	
Key players		
European Parliament		
Key events		

Technical information			
Procedure reference	2004/2520(RSO)		
Procedure type	RSO - Internal organisation decisions		
Procedure subtype	Parliament organisation		
Legal basis	Rules of Procedure EP 223		
Stage reached in procedure	Procedure completed		

Summary

T5-0166/2004

Decision by Parliament

End of procedure in Parliament

Documentation gateway						
Motion for a resolution	B5-0114/2004	12/02/2004	EP			
Text adopted by Parliament, topical subjects	<u>T5-0166/2004</u> OJ C 102 28.04.2004, p. 0520-0635 E	10/03/2004	EP	Summary		

Decision on the number of interparliamentary delegations, delegations to joint parliamentary committees and delegations to parliamentary cooperation committees

The European Parliament adopted a resolution on the number of inter parliamentary delegations, delegations to joint parliamentary committees and delegations to parliamentary cooperation committees. The decision sets up three categories of delegation: - Joint Parliamentary Committees (JPCs): these are established with the parliaments of states associated with the Community or States with which accession negotiations have been initiated; -Parliamentary Cooperation Committees (PCCs): these are established with parliaments of countries with which the EU has a Partnership and Cooperation agreement (only the former USSR); -Delegations for relations with other countries. The JPCs with the ten accession countries will disappear. On the other hand: - the Delegation to South East Europe (the Balkans) will be divided into a JPC EU-Croatia, a JPC EU-Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and a Delegation for relations with Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and Serbia and Montenegro (including Kosovo); -the PCC Ukraine-Moldova-Belarus will be divided into a PCC

EU-Ukraine, a PCC EU-Moldova and a Delegation for relations with Belarus. In addition: -two new JPCs will be created with Mexico and Chile, as a result of the association agreements with these countries; -a delegation for relations with Iran will be created, though bilateral work would not begin until a decision of principle was taken by the Conference of Presidents; -a delegation will be set up to the new Euro-Mediterranean Parliamentary Assembly; --there will be a Delegation to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly, made up in the first instance of members of the Foreign Affairs Committee and its Subcommittee on Security and Defence. Finally, the Committee on International Trade will deal with the parliamentary dimension of the WTO. These changes will enter force after the June European elections.?