Procedure file

Basic information			
CNS - Consultation procedure Decision	2008/0805(CNS)	Procedure completed	
European Food Safety Authority: appointment of seven members of the Management Board			
Subject 4.60.04.04 Food safety 8.40.08 Agencies and bodies of the EU			

Key players			
European Parliament	Committee responsible	Rapporteur	Appointed
	ENVI Environment, Public Health and Food Safety		
Council of the European Union	Council configuration	Meeting	Date
	Agriculture and Fisheries	2881	23/06/2008
European Commission	Commission DG	Commissioner	
	Health and Food Safety	VASSILIOU Androulla	

Key events			
17/03/2008	Legislative proposal published	07757/2008	Summary
10/04/2008	Committee referral announced in Parliament		
24/04/2008	Decision by committee, without report		
17/06/2008	Decision by Parliament		
23/06/2008	Act adopted by Council after consultation of Parliament		
23/06/2008	End of procedure in Parliament		
26/06/2008	Final act published in Official Journal		

Technical information		
Procedure reference	2008/0805(CNS)	
Procedure type	CNS - Consultation procedure	
Procedure subtype	Legislation	
Legislative instrument	Decision	
Stage reached in procedure	Procedure completed	

Committee dossier	ENVI/6/61235			
Documentation gateway				
Legislative proposal	07757/2008	18/03/2008	CSL	Summary
Final act				
Decision 2008/486 OJ L 165 26.06.2008, p. 0008 Summary				

European Food Safety Authority: appointment of seven members of the Management Board

PURPOSE: to propose a list of candidates for submission to the Council and the European Parliament with a view to the appointment of 7 members of the Management Board of the European Food Safety Authority.

PROPOSED ACT: Commission Decision.

CONTENT: the Commission presents a list of candidates for submission to the Council and the European Parliament with a view to the appointment of 7 members of the Management Board of the European Food Safety Authority.

The mandate for 7 of the 14 members of the Management Board expires on 30 June 2008. It is necessary to select new members to replace them.

In accordance with the provisions set out in Article 25 of Regulation (EC) N° 178/2002 (<u>COD/2000/0286</u>), the Commission has organised a selection procedure on the basis of a call for expressions of interest.

A list of 12 candidates is proposed:

- Margarita Arboix Arzo (ES)
- Giorgio Calabrese (IT)
- Sue Davies (GB)
- Libor Dupal (CZ)
- Carlos Escribano Mora (ES)
- Piergiuseppe Facelli (IT)
- Matthias Horst (DE)
- Raymond O'Rourke (IRL)
- Milan Poga?nik (SI)
- Jiri Ruprich (CZ)
- Sinikka Turunen (FI)
- Berhard Url (AT).

European Food Safety Authority: appointment of seven members of the Management Board

PURPOSE: to appoint 7 members of the Management Board of the European Food Safety Authority.

LEGISLATIVE ACT: Council Decision 2008/486/EC appointing half of the members of the Management Board of the European Food Safety Authority.

CONTENT: the mandate for 7 of the 14 members of the Management Board expires on 30 June 2008. It is necessary to select new members to replace them. This Decision provides that the following shall be appointed members of the Management Board of the European Food Safety Authority for the period from 1 July 2008 to 30 June 2012:

- Sue Davies (GB)
- Piergiuseppe Facelli (IT)
- Matthias Horst (DE)
- Milan Poga?nik (SI)
- Jiri Ruprich (CZ)
- Sinikka Turunen (FI)
- Berhard Url (AT).

The Decision states that the candidatures have been examined with a view to appointing seven new members of the Management Board on the basis of the documentation provided by the Commission and in the light of the views expressed by the European Parliament. The aim is to secure the highest standard of competence, a broad range of relevant expertise, for instance in management and in public administration, and the broadest possible geographic distribution within the Union. It also notes that three of those members have a background in organisations representing consumers and other interests in the food chain.