Procedure file

Basic information				
INS - Institutional procedure	2009/2209(INS)	Procedure completed		
Decision giving consent to the appointment of the Commission				
Subject 8.40.03 European Commission				

Key players			
European Parliament			
European Commission	Commission DG Secretariat-General	Commissioner BARROSO José Manuel	

Key events				
09/02/2010	Results of vote in Parliament			
09/02/2010	Decision by Parliament	<u>T7-0010/2010</u>	Summary	
09/02/2010	End of procedure in Parliament			
11/02/2010	Final act published in Official Journal			

Technical information		
Procedure reference	2009/2209(INS)	
Procedure type	INS - Institutional procedure	
Procedure subtype	Institutional matters	
Legal basis	Rules of Procedure EP 125	
Stage reached in procedure	Procedure completed	

Documentation gateway				
Motion for a resolution	B7-0090/2010	09/02/2010	EP	
Text adopted by Parliament, single reading	<u>T7-0010/2010</u>	09/02/2010	EP	Summary

<u>Decision 2010/80</u> <u>OJ L 038 11.02.2010, p. 0007</u> Summary

PURPOSE: to appoint the European Commission for the period from 10 February 2010 to 31 October 2014.

LEGISLATIVE ACT: Decision of the European Council 2010/80/EU appointing the European Commission.

CONTENT: by means of a vote held on 9 February 2010, the European Parliament gave its approval to the appointment of the President, the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and the other Members of the Commission as a college. Accordingly, this Decision appoints the members of the European Commission for the period from 10 February 2010 to 31 October 2014. The following persons are appointed:

- as President:
 - José Manuel DURÃO BARROSO
- as member, Vice-President, pursuant to Article 18(4) of the Treaty on European Union:
 - · Catherine ASHTON, High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy
- as Members:
 - Joaquín ALMUNIA AMANN
 - László ANDOR
 - Michel BARNIER
 - Dacian CIOLO?
 - John DALLI
 - Maria DAMANAKI
 - Karel DE GUCHT
 - ?tefan FÜLE
 - Máire GEOGHEGAN-QUINN
 - Kristalina GEORGIEVA
 - Johannes HAHN
 - Connie HEDEGAARD
 - Siim KALLAS
 - Neelie KROES
 - Janusz LEWANDOWSKI
 - Cecilia MALMSTRÖM
 - Günther H. OETTINGER
 - Andris PIEBALGS
 - Janez POTO?NIK
 - Viviane REDING
 - Olli REHN
 - Maro? ?EF?OVI?
 - Algirdas Gediminas ?EMETA
 - Antonio TAJANI
 - Androulla VASSILIOU

DATE OF EFFECT: 10/02/2010.

Decision giving consent to the appointment of the Commission

The European Parliament gave its consent by 448 votes to 137, with 72 abstentions, to the appointment of the President, the Vice-President for External Relations (High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy) and the other Members of the Commission, as a body, for the term of office running to 31 October 2014.