# Procedure file

# Basic information NLE - Non-legislative enactments 2014/0803(NLE) Procedure completed Appointment of Jyrki Katainen (FI) as a member of the Commission Subject 8.40.03 European Commission

Key players				
European Parliament	Committee responsible  ECON Economic and Monetary Affairs	Rapporteur	Appointed	
Council of the European Union European Commission	Commission DG <u>Legal Service</u>	Commissioner BARROSO José Manuel		

Key events			
19/06/2014	Legislative proposal published	N8-0002/2014	
03/07/2014	Committee referral announced in Parliament		
14/07/2014	Decision by committee, without report		
16/07/2014	Decision by Parliament	T8-0003/2014	Summary
17/07/2014	Act adopted by Council after consultation of Parliament		
17/07/2014	End of procedure in Parliament		
18/07/2014	Final act published in Official Journal		

Technical information		
Procedure reference	2014/0803(NLE)	
Procedure type	NLE - Non-legislative enactments	
Procedure subtype	Consultation of Parliament	
Legal basis	Treaty on the Functioning of the EU TFEU 246 -a2	
Stage reached in procedure	Procedure completed	
Committee dossier	ECON/8/00647	

Documentation gateway		

Legislative proposal	N8-0002/2014	20/06/2014	CSL	
Text adopted by Parliament, 1st reading/single reading	<u>T8-0003/2014</u>	16/07/2014	EP	Summary

### Final act

<u>Decision 2014/468</u> <u>OJ L 212 18.07.2014, p. 0015</u> Summary

# Appointment of Jyrki Katainen (FI) as a member of the Commission

In accordance with the second paragraph of Article 246 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU), and following the resignation of Olli Rehn, Janusz Lewandowski, Antonio Tajani and Viviane Reding as Members of the Commission, with effect from 30 June 2014, the European Parliament approved the appointment Jyrki Katainen (FI), Jacek Dominik (PL), Ferdinando Nelli Feroci (IT) and Martine Reicherts (LU) as Members of the Commission for the remainder of the Commissions term of office until 31 October 2014.

These Members were heard on the 14 July 2014 by the Parliamentary committees and statements of evaluation were drawn up following those hearings.

# Appointment of Jyrki Katainen (FI) as a member of the Commission

PURPOSE: to appoint a Member of the Commission.

NON LEGISLATIVE ACT: Council Decision 2014/468/EU taken by common accord with the President of the Commission, appointing a Member of the European Commission.

CONTENT: by common accord with Mr José Manuel DURÃO BARROSO, President of the Commission, the Council appoints Mr Jyrki KATAINEN (FI) as Member of the Commission for the remainder of the term of office which runs until 31 October 2014.

**ENTRY INTO FORCE: 17.07.2014.**