Procedure file

Basic information				
RSO - Internal organisation decisions	2016/3040(RSO)	Procedure completed		
Decision on the numerical strength of the standing committees				
Subject 8.40.01.06 Committees, interparliamentary delegations				

Key players	
European Parliament	

Key events					
18/01/2017	Results of vote in Parliament				
18/01/2017	Decision by Parliament	T8-0001/2017	Summary		
18/01/2017	End of procedure in Parliament				

Technical information			
Procedure reference	2016/3040(RSO)		
Procedure type	RSO - Internal organisation decisions		
Procedure subtype	Parliament organisation		
Other legal basis	Rules of Procedure EP 206		
Stage reached in procedure	Procedure completed		

Documentation gateway						
Motion for a resolution	B8-0029/2017	18/01/2017	EP			
Text adopted by Parliament, single reading	T8-0001/2017	18/01/2017	EP	Summary		

Decision on the numerical strength of the standing committees

The European Parliament adopted a decision on the numerical strength of the standing committees.

It has been decided that the numerical strength of the standing committees and subcommittees shall be as follows:

- Committee on Foreign Affairs: 73 members,
- Committee on Development: 28 members,
- Committee on International Trade: 41 members,
- Committee on Budgets: 41 members,
- Committee on Budgetary Control: 30 members,
- Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs: 61 members,
- Committee on Employment and Social Affairs: 55 members,

- Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety: 69 members,
- Committee on Industry, Research and Energy: 67 members,
- Committee on the Internal Market and Consumer Protection: 40 members,
- Committee on Transport and Tourism: 49 members,
- Committee on Regional Development: 43 members,
- Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development: 46 members,
- Committee on Fisheries: 27 members,
- Committee on Culture and Education: 31 members,
- Committee on Legal Affairs: 25 members,
- Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs: 60 members,
- Committee on Constitutional Affairs: 25 members,
- Committee on Womens Rights and Gender Equality: 37 members,
- · Committee on Petitions: 36 members,
- Subcommittee on Human Rights: 30 members,
- Subcommittee on Security and Defence: 30 members.

Parliament decided, with reference to the proposal from the Conference of Presidents of 12 January 2017 relating to the composition of committee bureaux, that the committee bureaux may consist of up to four vice-chairs.