Procedure file

Basic information		
CNS - Consultation procedure Decision	1995/2011(CNS)	Procedure completed
Court of Auditors: appointment of three additional members		
Subject 8.40.05 Court of Auditors		

Key players			
European Parliament	Committee responsible	Rapporteur	Appointed
	CONT Budgetary Control		07/02/1995
		PPE THEATO Diemu	t R.
Council of the European Ur	nion		

Key events			
12/01/1995	Legislative proposal published	N4-0015/1995	Summary
20/01/1995	Committee referral announced in Parliament		
07/02/1995	Vote in committee		Summary
07/02/1995	Committee report tabled for plenary, 1st reading/single reading	<u>A4-0019/1995</u>	
16/02/1995	Debate in Parliament		
17/02/1995	Decision by Parliament	T4-0072/1995	Summary
20/02/1995	Act adopted by Council after consultation of Parliament		
20/02/1995	End of procedure in Parliament		
07/03/1995	Final act published in Official Journal		

Technical information		
Procedure reference	1995/2011(CNS)	
Procedure type	CNS - Consultation procedure	
Procedure subtype	Legislation	
Legislative instrument	Decision	
Legal basis	ECSC Treaty C 045B; EC before Amsterdam E 188B-p3; Merger Treaty F 022; Euratom Treaty A 160B	

Stage reached in procedure	Procedure completed
Committee dossier	CONT/4/06367

Documentation gateway				
Legislative proposal	N4-0015/1995	12/01/1995	CSL	Summary
Committee report tabled for plenary, 1st reading/single reading	A4-0019/1995 OJ C 056 06.03.1995, p. 0004	07/02/1995	EP	
Text adopted by Parliament, 1st reading/single reading	T4-0072/1995 OJ C 056 06.03.1995, p. 0160-0193	17/02/1995	EP	Summary
Text adopted by Parliament, 1st reading/single reading	T4-0073/1995 OJ C 056 06.03.1995, p. 0160-0194	17/02/1995	EP	
Text adopted by Parliament, 1st reading/single reading	T4-0074/1995 OJ C 056 06.03.1995, p. 0160-0195	17/02/1995	EP	

Final act

Decision 1995/44
OJ L 050 07.03.1995, p. 0035

Court of Auditors: appointment of three additional members

Under the act of accession of Austrian, Sweden and Finland, the number of members of the Court of Auditors will need to be increased to fifteen by appointing a further three members as soon as these countries accede. The Council therefore wrote to the European Parliament on 12 January 1995, in accordance with the provisions of the Treaty, in order to consult it on the appointment of the following three persons as members of the Court of Auditors: - Mr Hubert Weber, nominated by Austria; - Mr Aunus Olavi Salmi, nominated by Finland; - Mr Jan O. Karlsson, nominated by Sweden. The Council hoped that Parliament would give an opinion as quickly as possible, given the obligations accruing pursuant to the act of accession.?

Court of Auditors: appointment of three additional members

The Committee on Budgetary Control heard the three persons nominated by the authorities of the new Member States in public on 7 February 1995 and then, following discussion in camera, voted in favour of all the nominees by a large majority in a secret ballot. It therefore adopted the report by Mrs Diemut Theato recommending that plenary grant its assent to the appointment of the three nominees to the European Court of Auditors. In view of the forthcoming renewals, the Committee on Budgetary Control reminded the Member States, and the Council in particular, that it found the lack of women members of the Court unacceptable.

Court of Auditors: appointment of three additional members

The European Parliament voted in favour of the appointment of the three nominees as members of the Court of Auditors.