EU/Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Montenegro, Norway, Serbia, Kosovo\* Multilateral Agreement: European Common Aviation Area (ECAA)

2006/0036(NLE) - 23/11/2015 - Modified legislative proposal

The Commission has negotiated, on behalf of the Union, a Multilateral Agreement on the establishment of a European Common Aviation Area (ECAA) between the European Community and its Member States and Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Montenegro, Norway, Romania, Serbia and the United Nations Interim Administration Mission in Kosovo, pursuant to a decision of the Council authorising the opening of negotiations on 10 December 2004.

The ECAA Agreement was signed on behalf of the Community on 9 June 2006, subject to its conclusion at a later date, in accordance with Decision 2006/682/EC of the Council and of the Representatives of the Member States of the European Union meeting within the Council, which authorized its signature and provisional application.

As regards the EU side, both the Union and its Member States are Parties to this Agreement. The ratification process has been completed by all Member States on 23 January 2014.

The proposal at issue modifies the initial proposal of the Commission (see the summary of the proposal of the legislative document dated 14.03.2006), and subsequently submitted to the Council, with a view notably to take account of the entry into force of the Treaty of Lisbon.

The whole of the relevant text is submitted as amended proposal.