EU/Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Montenegro, Norway, Serbia, Kosovo* Multilateral Agreement: European Common Aviation Area (ECAA)

2006/0036(NLE) - 13/09/2017 - Text adopted by Parliament after reconsultation

The European Parliament adopted by 599 votes to 38, with 30 abstentions, a legislative resolution on the draft Council Decision on the conclusion, on behalf of the Union, of the Multilateral Agreement between the European Community and its Member States, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Montenegro, Norway, Romania, Serbia and the United Nations Interim Administration Mission in Kosovo on the establishment of a European Common Aviation Area (ECAA).

Following the recommendation of its Committee on Transport and Tourism, the European Parliament gave its consent to the conclusion of the Agreement.

The Agreement was signed on behalf of the Community on 9 June 2006, subject to its conclusion at a later date. Parliament then approved the conclusion of the Agreement. The ratification process was completed by all Member States on 23 January 2014.

The objective of the Agreement is to establish a European Common Aviation Area (ECAA) which would include the EUs neighbours in South-East Europe in the EU's internal aviation market which consists of EU Member States as well as Norway and Iceland.